LWB Artist – Introduction

4
Bonsai Cedar – Growing against a dead tree and hag stone, in a weathered container.

Trees, childhood memories and fantasies – Paintings by Les Ball

I began in 1973 working as Head Gardener amongst some giants, on a private estate in South West Scotland. Growing hundreds of trees from seed, I produced many bonsai, inspired by my interest in Japanese art.

Hag stones feature in some of my work as they represent happy memories of childhood holidays. My mother and I would spend hours searching for them along pebbled beaches.

Influences have come from Gaudi, Tiffany and Hundertwasser. Also influenced by the Studio Ghible film collection, such as Howl’s Castle and the Dutch cartoon jigsaw artist Jan Van Hoasteren.

Leave a Reply

